Home > Uncategorized > Getting Out of a Rut!

Getting Out of a Rut!

Welcome to the Renew Fitness and Nutrition blog!

I hope that you all find this blog helpful and fun.

As we all know–especially while trying to lose weight–sometimes you just get into a food/fitness rut!  The same old breakfast day after day, the same workouts over and again… My goal with posting is to show you some new recipe ideas, fun ways to squeeze in physical activity, and anything else that relates to living a healthier lifestyle.  So really, the topic options are endless!

For my first post, I want to share a smoothie recipe that I stumbled upon through reading blogs and continue to use on a weekly basis.  It’s fresh, creamy and nutritious! Plus it’s simple to make and the ingredients are flexible (depending what you have on hand).

Super-food Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk of choice (I like vanilla soy to add some sweetness)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 large handful of spinach
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax seed

Blend until well combined and creamy!

I love using the Magic Bullet blender for smoothies because it’s quick and there’s less cleaning involved.  However, these variations with spinach are sometimes hard to squeeze in that little cup so it’s really your choice.

Other things you can substitute/add:

  • Peanut butter (to make it more filling)
  • Other frozen fruits (instead of the banana)
  • Protein powder
  • Raw oats (add a touch more liquid)

Let me know if you try it!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment