Home > Uncategorized > Will work for produce

Will work for produce

Hello!

I had an interesting few days at my dietetic internship last week so I figured I would share.  On Friday I was lucky enough to assist with a Produce & Health Fair where we distributed 500+ tote bags of healthy food including chicken breast, peanut butter, black beans, tuna, lettuce, peaches, bell peppers and tomatoes!  The idea was, attendees had to circulate to different educational booths and get a card stamped at each one before proceeding to the food line.

What a great experience!  I saw people lined up for over an hour to participate and they were all so grateful to have this service provided (donations by a local food bank).  Ages ranged from newborn baby to the elderly population and several cultures were represented.  I really enjoyed being part of it!

If that wasn’t enough, I also got to visit and tour a local farm stand.  Check out the fresh produce they had for sale:

The theme of the week must have been fresh food because on Saturday morning I woke up bright and early to work at a community garden.  Has anyone ever volunteered at one before?  I’m in love with the idea…  By putting in time to harvest/clean-up, people can take home a bag of free fruits and veggies at the end of the day.  How great is that?

I saw young children get excited over finding carrots in the ground and older adults light up at the sight of a white eggplant or purple beans.  There were also recipe exchanges and conversations about cooking techniques.

Who would have thought I would be so happy working for free!

Reasons why buying local is great:

  • Usually less expensive
  • Tastes delicious!
  • Better for the environment (less travel = less exhaust)
  • Fun!

Tell me about the best piece of produce you’ve eaten this summer.

  1. Lydia Jolly
    August 31, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Since moving to Georgia this summer my best piece of produce that I had the pleasure of eating was a peach. Where else are you going to find better peaches than in Georgia? I bought some at the farmers market here in Augusta. They were fabulous! Juice rolling down the side of my face fabulous!

  2. August 31, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Sounds great Lydia! I love peaches but I can’t say I’ve ever tried a true Georgia peach. Love that you are taking advantage of local finds!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

