Home > Uncategorized > Relaxing Weekend

Relaxing Weekend

Note the difference between my dinner when my chef roommate cooks and when I cook for just myself…

Friday night–>Chef

I loved this dish! Angel hair pasta is my favorite I think… So delicate and it goes great with everything!  There is also chopped asparagus, cherry tomatoes, browned chicken and pine nuts mixed in.  Perfect with a splash of red wine.

Saturday Night–>Me

Mm grilled cheese.  Don’t be fooled, this can be healthy too!  When I make dinner for just myself, I go for easy and low-cost.

Ways to bump up the nutrition of your typical greasy sandwich:

  • I used Ezekial Sprouted Grain bread (cinnamon raisin) which is full of fiber and protein.  Any whole grain bread is a good choice!
  • Go easy on the cheese.  While cheese isn’t a “bad” food it does have a lot of saturated fat and is calorically dense, so keep it reasonable.
  • Add some vegetables.  I actually had some low-sodium tomato soup on the side but didn’t take a picture.  Sometimes I even add veggies inside the sandwich, but it really is up to you!

Now it’s Sunday.  I typically make a big meal that I can eat throughout the week for easy lunches and dinners.  I’m stumped!  Any suggestions?

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend–enjoy what’s left!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

